oh these cheapie $5.99 rings?–(my inagural Frugalista Fashion blogpost)

November 7, 2009

i am not a virgin to  blogging…i have been blogging professionally (i am an indpendent product developer) as well as personally (about health and fitness) for about a year (i was slow to start, but now i can’t shut-up)…geeze, but i never know how to start each one…i feel like i owe you my full history to understand the why’s behind my blogs…otherwise who am i to you?…right?…

i have learned that the best way to remedy this (and truly this is my own type-A issue), is to just sink my teeth in and start writing…eventually, the why’s, the who’s, the what’s, and the when’s, sift out…

although i am eager to tell the stories behind my soon-to-be uploaded photos of my latest frugal fashion finds, combination of finds, and/or photos of  grafting my finds to my existing, dated clothing repotoire, i feel obligated to give you some context and relay the impetus behind my sitting down and commencing my Frugalista Fashion blog today… (i am dying to show you my big $49.99 ‘it’ purse for this fall and winter season…btw, $49.99 is my upper financial limit for an individual fashion piece–be it jeans or shoes…oh yes, what i can find for under $49.99)…

so rewind about a month ago…i was at a a business meeting with an owner of a high-end, infant and children’s product company here in my local town of sacramento, ca…we were in the depths of discussing investment opportunities, when the owner stopped me mid-sentence to tell me that my set of stacking rings were ‘so gorgeous’…being caught off guard, i morphed quickly into my casual ‘sis-tah, please’ self, and said ‘oh these cheapie rings?…i bought them for $5.99 at H&M’…

the owner was silent for a moment–i could almost hear him say in his mind ‘oh no she didn’t’…then he gave me a couple of those purposeful finger snaps and scolded me — ‘…girl, don’t ever reveal your trade secrets…’

uh, i guess i felt encouraged because i continued to spew out the financial stats on my outfit which included the brown flutter top, the brown tank top, the white wide legged jeans with tan stitching,  the patent leather criss-cross platform brown shoes, and the brownish, olive green faux snake skin bag…

(little did he know i had a bad belt thing going on under the tops because since i buy frugal, i can’t always get the best fit of clothing, in this case the jeans…although the jeans fit splendidly in the butt, the waist did not fit and i found a ratty old brown leather belt to scrunch the waistband up…the belt was not fashionable, but practical in holding up my jeans…oh, i am quite the master of fashion ‘bandaids’…a frugalista like myself, tries not want to pay for alterations…)

this is not the first time people have told me not to divulge how much i spend on fashion (my darling husband included)…why is this so?…any ideas?…aren’t my girlfriends who spend $200 on their jeans, making an equally, attention-grabbing statement as well?…so why is it a faux pas to talk about extremely affordable fashion?…and why do i feel compelled to tell people the truth about my Frugalista Fashion ways?…

i am hoping one of my readeres can enlighten me…i really want to know what’s going on…

here is a picture of those now, tarnished cheapie stacking rings which i wore during that meeting a month or so ago to that meeting….(not really digging my seemingly wrinkly skin)

H&M Gold Stacking Rings


Leave a comment